Tuesday
went to ferry, met american girls studying abroad in uruguay, chilled on the top deck and watched the BA skyline float by like a blackness light up by a million-jillion little lightning bugs, took a short nap, arrived in Colonia, took a bus to Montevideo, and arrived at 7am- yes we pulled a red-eye.
Wednesday
waited for the info center to open, took a bus to our hostel, walked around Montevideo and went the the famed fisherman's market that was a converted train depot, ate at a parilla that mark saw featured on the travel channel, walked along the ACH (the equivalent of our PCH), took a much needed nap, watched sunset form the highest point in the city, randomly met another group of Pepperdine kids at our hostel, hung out with them on the balcony of our hostel, climbed the jungle gym of buildings that Montevideo offered (unlike BA, they didn't have security guards EVERYWHERE), and chilled on top of the highest building while overlooking the bay and dazzling display of lights all around
Thursday
woke up, had breakfast at the hostel, rented a car, roadtripped up the coast to Casa Pueblo -a San Torini-esque array out white buildings built on a cliff on the edge of the ocean, went cliff jumping below Casa Pueblo, continued on to Punta Del Este, went and saw the famed fingers, chilled on the beach while waiting for the other Pepp group to get to their beach apartment, went for a walk on the beach, went out to eat with eaverybody at Pizza Mundo, hungout in the apartment for the night
Friday
woke up before everybody and read+swam+walked on the beach, left apartment and got groceries, got out at jose ignacio and walked a beach, took a sketch ferry across a delta thing, continued on all the way to Punta Del Diablo, walked around town, cooked dinner, kicked it with the guys at Cero Stress- a cabana restaurant right on the shore, super chill atmosphere, picturesque beach hangout, set up camp in the dunes 100 feet away from the ocean, and fell asleep to the sound of waves and blanket of burning bright stars
Saturday
woke up early and walked to the lighthouse (we were trying to find a flag to take back with us), packed up camp and went into town, bought a mango for supes cheap, read books and chilled at cero stress, hung out on the beach for a couple hours while watching surfers, got some empanadas made with fresh fish from the cove we were chilling on, hung out under a tiki hut, kicked it with the guys, swam in the lagoon, splurged on a super nice fish dinner (also caught that day in the cove), kicked it at cero stress again, and then set up camp in the dunes again
Sunday
woke up early, listened to my ipod on the beach, drove down to cabo polonio, took some rad truck/jeep things over some gnarly territory to get the the national park/small town of cabbo polonio (during the ride our dinner and sunscreen fell off the side of the truck and theres nothing we could do about it except watch it fade into the distance), walked through town, had an amazing nature poop on the coast, had lunch on the point, attempted to slap a sea lions butt but almost got killed by the ones hiding in the cracks around it, watched kite surfers, drove back down towards Punta Del Este and stopped at Rex's in La Barra, watched wind surfers, camped in dunes at Atlantilda
Monday
woke up early and read+swam, returned rental car, cooked lunch in the central plaza, took bus to the bus terminal, caught bus to Colonia, took ferry back to BA and watched the sunset on the top deck, got home around 11:30pm
super. solid. epic. trip.
| Montevideo sunset |
| Casa Pueblo |
| sketch ferry |
| Punta Del Diablo fishermen |
| Cero Stress |
No comments:
Post a Comment